VRT big glutton, not Niels Destadsbader or Koen Wauters: these are the nominees for the new media awards ‘Kastaars!’ | TV

TVThe nominees for the ‘Kasaars!’ Are known. The new media awards, which will be presented on 28 January, are divided into eight audience awards and three jury awards. VRT brands are best represented, Danira Boukhriss and Erik Van Looy each have three nominations, Niels Destadsbader, Koen Wauters and Karl Vannieuwkerke are notable for their absence. HLN was also nominated twice, in the categories ‘best podcast’ and ‘best online video series’.

LOOK. Luc Appermont expresses his reservations about media prices

Most popular “TV Show,” “Radio Show,” “Fiction Series,” “Personality,” “Podcast,” “Online Series,” “TV Moment,” and “TV Contestant.” These are the eight public prizes awarded in the first edition of the ‘Kastaars’. In addition, a jury also awards three prizes for ‘breakthrough’, ‘career’ and a kind of special ‘jury mention’. The number of VRT brands is striking in that list of 80 nominations. 38 of the 80 nominees are associated with public broadcasting, compared to 17 nominations for VTM brands, 16 for SBS and 9 for other brands. This difference is particularly noticeable in the categories ‘radio’ and ‘fiction’, which is logical because the public broadcaster has many more radio stations than the competition and has been specializing in home-grown fiction for years.

Also noteworthy: in the list of most popular media personalities of the year, there is only one VTM face with Dina Tersago. Big guns like Niels Destadsbader and Koen Wauters cannot be found. The former nevertheless presented the most watched program of 2022 with ‘The Masked Singer’, Wauters was not connected to a major program last year – apart from being a coach in ‘The Voice’. Another notable absentee from that list is Karl Vannieuwkerke. With programs such as ‘Villa Sporza’ and ‘Vive Le velo’ he mastered the busy sports year, but he did not get a nomination. The names that appear most frequently in the list are Erik Van Looy and Danira Boukhriss Terkessidis. They are both in the list of the most popular ‘media personality’, ‘TV participant’ and ‘TV moment’ of the year.

(Read more below the photo.)

Danira Boukhriss Terkessidis and Erik Van Looy © Play4/RV

Like-tuned violins

The nominees have been determined by the research agency iVOX. “Twice a year – once after the TV spring and once after the TV autumn – they conducted a survey among all layers of the Flemish population,” says Luc Appermont, who chairs a nine-member jury that includes Nora Gharib. , Goedele Liekens and Tim Van Aelst. Appermont, winner of fourteen Golden Eyes in the not so distant past, also says that he really believes in the new Flemish media awards. “It is the very first time that all media groups have rallied behind such an initiative,” it sounds. “In all previous awards, the collaboration always jumped off the differences between the public and commercial broadcasters, but now violins are finally aligned.”

The forerunner of the ‘Kastaars’, the Flemish television stars, died a quiet death five years ago. The viewing figures of the ceremony – broadcast alternately by VTM and VRT and later also VIER – ebbed away, while the costs remained the same. The last Flemish television stars were awarded out of sight of the cameras in 2018 during a guest lecture in an auditorium of Ghent University.

Two editions

This time, all major media groups (DPG Media, VRT, SBS) are supporting the election that will be broadcast simultaneously on 28 January on all major TV channels, radio stations and online video and news platforms. According to the organizers, the next two editions are already fixed, on Saturday 27 January 2024 and Saturday 25 January 2025.

Discover all the nominees here, you can vote until Thursday 19 January via kastaars.be.

Television program of 2022

The smartest person in the world (Play4)

Restaurant misunderstanding (One)

The Ideal World (Canvas)

Media personality of 2022

Danira Bouhkriss Terkessidis (VRT)

Fiction Series of 2022

Radio program of 2022

Maarten & Dorothee (Qmusic)

The morning (Studio Brussels)

Sophie’s world (Radio 1)

Radio2 hit mix with Anja Daems (Radio2)

The timeless (Studio Brussels)

Online video series of 2022

Camille – Welcome to my life (VTM GO)

Security Checkers (VTM GO )

Victor vs Francesco (GoPlay)

Podcast of 2022

Björn in the USA (VRT NWS)

Nerdland weekly overview with Lieven Scheire (Qmusic)

The voices of assizes (Het Nieuwsblad)

The ten most googled questions (Qmusic)

The Very Last Witnesses (HLN)

Merry misers (Het Nieuwsblad)

The Legend of Zillion (Studio Brussels)

Contestant of 2022

Princess Delphine in Dancing with the Stars (Play4)

Bart Cannaerts in The smartest person in the world (Play4)

The Cast of Restaurant Misunderstanding (One)

Danira Boukhriss Terkessidis in The smartest person in the world (Play4)

Miss Poes Camille Dhont in The Masked Singer (VTM)

Brecht & Dziubi in Married Blind (VTM)

Radish Erik Van Looy in The Masked Singer (VTM)

Tom Waes as a doorman in Those were the Days (VRT MAX)

The moms from Caring for mom (One)

Foster mother Ingrid in Taxi Joris (Canvas)

Media moment of 2022

Unexpected turn: Philippe leaves De mol (Play4)

Danira Boukhriss Terkessidis wins The smartest person in the world (Play4)

The unmasking of Conner Rousseau in The Masked Singer (VTM)

Viv and Lowie break up in tears in Home (One)

Farewell to memé Clara in Château Planckaert (One)

The Radio 1 session with Arno (Radio 1)

After years, Erik Van Looy sees The Village People cowboy in James the musical (Play4)

Caroline wants to quit Bought Blind because she’s not happy with a million dollar house (Play4)

Satte madammen from The ideal world laughing with FC De Kampioenen (Canvas)


How fair are media prices in Flanders? Jury chairman Luc Appermont: “There used to be a lot of discussion about”

You’ve heard hundreds of his songs, but you don’t know him: Wouter Vander Veken. “Now busy with ‘The Masked Singer’” (+)

Successor for ‘The Flemish Television Stars’ has been announced: Koen, Danira and Gert present new media prizes ‘Kastaars!’ from

Leave a Comment